Anne was a former President of ANZCA, and was President of JERAA at the time of her death, both associations felt it appropriate to honour her via a joint prize. Anne was widely respected for her broadcast experience and management skills, including responsibilities at the ABC and as Dean of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Sydney. She was well known as a mentor of early career researchers, especially women making the transition from industry to academia, as she had done. The award explicitly aims to honour Anne’s commitment to critical research of high academic standard. It recognises excellence in research about the fields of communication and journalism, including but not limited to broadcast media for the public benefit. This reflects Anne’s passion for public service broadcasting, radio studies and media ethics, and her work in bridging journalism and media studies scholarship. 


Note: The deadline for applications for the 2019 Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year Award will be the close of business (Australian time), Monday 6th May.

Judging will be done by two members of the JERAA executive and two members of the ANZCA executive and will be finalised in time for the winner to use the prize to attend either or both of the annual ANZCA and JERAA conferences should they wish to do so.

Who can apply?
The award is open to all scholars working in the journalism and communication studies fields in Australia and New Zealand. Applicants must be able to refer to a body of their own research work in journalism or communication. As a journalist, Anne Dunn worked primarily in broadcast media but applications are welcome from scholars in any part of the journalism and communication field. Entries will be judged on the merit of the body of work that is submitted. The award explicitly aims to honour Anne’s commitment to important research of high academic standard.

Application guidelines

To apply to become the 2019 Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year, please submit an application via email to the current president of the JERAA, Alexandra Wake at and the current president of ANZCA, Mary Simpson at by 6th May 2019. You’ll need to put the words “Anne Dunn award” in the subject line of your email and your application must include the following details:



Contact postal address



Description of body of research about journalism, communication and/or broadcast media for the public benefit (two pages maximum).

Demonstration of the impact of the body of research (one page maximum).

Statement about how the chosen body of research commemorates the aims and spirit of Anne Dunn’s scholarly work (half a page maximum).

Previous Recipients

2014 – Siobhan McHugh (University of Wollongong)
2015 – Mia Lindgren (Monash University)
2016 – Emma A. Jane (University of New South Wales)
2017 – Geoffrey Craig (Auckland University of Technology)
2018 – Caroline Fisher (University of Canberra)
2019 – T. J. Thomson (Queensland University of Technology)

Mailing List

Stay informed of the latest research, policy prescriptions and opinions from the realm of communications by joining ANZCA’S mailing list.

Donate Today

Support vital research, postgraduate programs, and other ANZCA projects by donating*.
*Donations are always welcome but are no longer tax-deductible.